*NEW* SDS Live Call Calendar ×

Open-Handed vs. Textbook Fills

Kirstin

No, no problem.  I'm not describing it well and probably will likely continue to fail at describing what I mean in this post.

I'll just stick to the old school 16th note fill around the horn as some drummers describe it.  Going from left to right, from smallest tom to largest, 1-2-3-4, 1-2-3-4, 1-2-3-4, etc. Maybe linear fills is the right term for this? Like Bonham triplets and etc. I'm new to the world of drum terminology.

I don't see a lot of open handed drummers using fills like this or other traditional fills that are usually top 5 in the text books. Or they very rarely do it. They tend to bounce around, hit multiple drums at once and whatnot. I didn't even notice this until a pro open-hander said something about how open handed playing gets you away from these types of fills. Then I started watching closer.

Then next time I got on the kit to work on fills, I noticed that if I am going from the gut, I tend to tumble around a bit too, such as snare-floor-snare-10", one drum might get a single hit, another might get a double and I'm usually combining the bass drum on or off the grid.  When I do traditional fills like the one described in the first paragraph it feels 'wrong?' Or like a wasted opportunity?  I don't know what. I wondered if I had picked up a bias from that pro open hander or if there is something inherent in the playstyle that leads your gut towards a different sort of fill. 

If you still don't understand, that is all on me. It probably answers my question that it is only me feeling this way. LOL.